Down The Rabbit Hole

A ship in harbor is safe, but that is not why ships are built.

Hate May 3, 2011

Filed under: Life,Personal Responsibility,Politics — brinaerin @ 3:34 am

As half the world parties on about Big Bad USA finally killing Osama bin Laden, I don’t feel the desire to celebrate. Yeah he may have helped engineer 9/11, yeah he hates me for no reason, but it still doesn’t seem right to throw a block party because our military killed this guy. I find it hard to hate this man. I am a true believer in karma, everything you do, you do to yourself. Interestingly enough, two of my friends felt a similar way and found some great quotes which seem to speak to the point better than I can.

“Say to them, As I live, declares the Lord God, I have no pleasure in the death of the wicked, but that the wicked turn from his way and live” Ezekiel 33:11 (I know I quoted the bible – hell did not freeze over, it just fits).

“I will mourn the loss of thousands of precious lives, but I will not rejoice in the death of one, not even an enemy. Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate, only love can do that.” -Martin Luther King Jr

 

Leave a comment